Traditions

There is something I do not get about this place. I don’t think there is a day I didn’t hear the sound of a firecracker or fireworks. Either close or far. And now, a week ago, there is this Fallas thing beginning soon and there are events happening. Every day around 2, there are fireworks and firecrackers in the main plaza, and the streets are closed and there are so many people in the streets going to this thing, just to see  or hear the fireworks. And I don’t get it. What is so exciting about it. Every single day. I personally find it stupid. Usually at that time I’m sitting in my room doing work, and it’s like there is bombing happening and I really don’t get it. I am so glad I don’t have to go or return from school at that time. It’s so crowded even without the bombing.

I’m not really the traditional type of person. Even though I was part of some traditional events in my village when I was a child (I don’t wanna look at those pictures), I grew apart of it. I don’t mean that we don’t have to keep traditions and be proud of our countrys past. I just don’t like the way it’s happening and the reason people are doing it. Sometimes we lose the point of it all.

Leave a Reply

