The city

There is something familiar about this place that somehow makes me feel like I’m home. I walk a lot. Leave me with my headphones and I can go anywhere. So all this time I walking around the city, getting lost as usual, and finding my way by chance, hours later. But I love it. I remember the first days I was discovering the city. I felt it right away. I could definitely live here. The park is really nice. The smell of the pine trees remind me of home and somehow it makes it perfect. If you walk there at night, there are cats everywhere. And if you here a voice screaming “cat” it will be me (sometimes I feel like I’m Audrey Hepburn in “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”).

Something that I’ve noticed is that there are a lot of homeless people. There was a night I was walking home through the park, it was late, and we saw people sleeping under the bridges, or near some short of buildings. On my way to the school, everyday, there is an old lady sitting on the same spot, asking for money. I feel so sad every time I walk there, sometimes I give her some coins but I still feel strange.

Another thing I’ve noticed and I wish it wasn’t real, is the smell. This city is really dirty. It  smells so bad, everywhere you go, it’s really gross. I hate this.

But there are so many nice things. Architecture is something I always appreciate. Those old buildings are so beautiful. And they are everywhere. You can’t not admire them.

The plazas, the gardens, the fountains, are all so beautiful. It feels good being around here. There are so many different neighborhoods. The city centre is obviously the best part.

The beach though is something else. The beach was always a part of me. It’s so calming and peaceful. I grew up by the sea, and one reason I chose this city was because of the sea.

So I’ve said that I could live here for a while. Or longer, who knows.

Leave a Reply

